I had decided last night to do something I haven't done in ages, stay up till the sun rose typing away at a paper that I should have finished hours before. I would remember 2nd Year when staying up without sleep seemed new to me and the house at 3 am would scare me. Then fast forward to 3rd Year when I was staying in my grandfather's house and finish my Filipino papers at around 5 am. The thing with my grandfather's house is that the computer is located in the lanai which is kind of "open" area so I get to feel the occasional drop of rain on my shoulder or see a cockroach scurrying across the marble floor. Whenever that happens I would start typing away as if I had just taken a shot of espresso.
This year we had no papers that would take that long to finish so it being our 4th Quarter already I decided to type away my term paper so I can finish in the wee hours of the morning. Oh and another factor that helped me decide to not sleep is that my other friend had to finish his term paper that night cause his defense is this Friday already. So we decided to both stay up and do our term paper, and even though I was ahead of him he was able to finish a lot faster than me cause I suck at writting essays.
The people who stayed up on that faithful night were: Me, Luis, Karl, Kamille V and Armaine, plus other people who were obviously sleeping but left their YM on. At one point in the night I chatted with them because I was taking one of my "chat breaks".
At 0120 hours I got hungry and Luis and I decided to go to McDonalds for a break. I like going to 24 hour places at 1 am... Something about the difference between day time's busy and long lines and the silence of the store in early mornings.
Anyways we went back and kept on typing. At 5 am Luis gave up with fighting against sleep and decided to sleep, I slept a little after that. With xteen number of pages to show for the night, I feel a little cheated that I was able to come up with so little pages given a whole night to type it. But now I realize that it was never about finishing my paper (that's due weeks from now) but more of for the experience, the feeling of working the whole night and fighting against the sunrise. One thing that I thought I would miss until I realized that college would not change me, I would still procastinate and cram in college and I'm pretty sure that my sleepless nights have not ended. But what the heck, last night was about the memories because this may be the last night in my senior year that I will work the whole night.
Call it weird but I like sleepless nights. Workaholic? :|
Thursday, January 29, 2009
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment